Follow Up To Les Miserables

As you know I went to see the west end musical on wednesday evening which was unreal.

So I thought I would make some what of a review on it, so like I said I’ve only watched the film before Wednesday, you really have to detach yourself from the movie to fully enjoy the show. Believe it or not you’re not going to see ten grown men pull in a boat on the west end.

The singing was obviously incredible, but I have to say I was let down with a couple of the actors, those being enjolras and fantine. They’re voices were incredible, don’t get me wrong but it was the acting, neither acted the part they just sung it which pissed me off, I expected to be in a flood of tears when Fantine dies, which I weren’t. The show also seems to reflect more on Valjean and Javert, which the film dilutes in favour of focusing on all of the characters. But this wasn’t a problem, if anything it was even better and you really understood the relationship between them, We had the understudy for Javert, but he still didn’t disappoint, he was incredible. The Bishop in the beginning I’m sure was played by the same guy who played Marius, which was odd, they probably should have cast someone who was older, it didn’t look right but again his voice was perfect for the role. Eponine was amazing, I think her and Javert were the best as they weren’t just incredible singers but also really got into the role, when they sung you could feel the emotion. The Thenardier’s were just as brilliant as everyone told me they would be. They changed the whole atmosphere of the musical when they were on stage, they absolutely nail the comical side of their characters, whilst still making sure they come across as selfish, greedy people.

The set was amazing, the barricades set is an absolute masterpiece and the rotating stage is perfect for all of the entwined stories. Although I was left somewhat disappointed with a couple of the casting, it’s still the only musical that has made me go ‘wow’, it leaves a feeling with you that doesn’t go away, and you don’t want it to. I think that both the film and the show are incredible, in their own respects, the stories are the same, as is the script but you can’t expect it to be anything like the film. If you’ve seen the film, you need to see the show, if you’ve seen the show, you need to go again.

One thought on “Follow Up To Les Miserables

  1. Unquestionably imagine that that you said. Your favourite
    justification seemed to be on the web the easiest factor to take into account of.
    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while other people think about issues that they plainly don’t understand about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and outlined out the whole thing without having side-effects
    , folks can take a signal. Will likely be again to get more.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

