Travel on a budget Series SAVING

With travelling becoming more and more popular, I constantly hear people, including myself saying how much they want to start, but don’t have the money. Today I’m going to start a series on how to travel on a budget. My salary isn’t great but with some handy saving tips, and a bit of research travelling is easily done.

Let’s start it off with saving, probably the hardest part. What I did was open an ISA account I was able to access anytime and made a direct debit to go out of my current account as soon as I got paid. Initially I make sure £250 goes in each month and if I have anything left over it goes in there as well. Obviously put in as much as you can personally afford, whether that’s less or more, sometimes it means not being able to do everything you want during saving. I usually allow myself two nights/days out a month. In the grand scale of things, I would much rather be hiking up a mountain then going out in a dirty nightclub every weekend. Priorities.

Try not to eat out as much, it seems silly and obvious but it makes such an impact. Especially if you are on a budget. Think about it this way, a drink and a packet of crisps is about £3 right? Now multiply that by five (the days you’re in work) that’s fifteen then times that by four (for each week) that’s £60 already. Believe it or not that £60 can get you to France and back. Buy multipacks and drink water.

Leave the card at home, if you’re surrounded by shops the worst thing you can do is have you’re bank card on you, if you don’t have it, you can’t use it. Try and keep it at home if you don’t want to spend.

Depending on your budget you could be ready within the month, three or six, to start on your travels.

Leave a Reply

