Cutting KFC from the Media Diet

I won’t lie, I get most of my news online, and I think the majority of us do. But with newspapers, magazines, TV networks, Celebrities and independent sources constantly updating their newsfeed, how do we determine what actually is news, and what’s just junk?

Since tracking my own media consumption, I’ve realised that the internet is so congested with “news” that it can be difficult to digest what is actually news worthy. Its hard to filter out the good from the bad. One minute you’re reading a story on the refugee crisis, the next you’re reading an article on Kim Kardashians latest instagram photo. Like most people nowadays I get the majority of my news online, especially through social media, and with there being so much out there, it’s important to make sure you’re getting your five a day, with the odd slice of cake thrown in there. And to make sure I have a healthy balanced media diet, here’s what I’m going to do;

  1. Use Social Media properly, yes, the Kardashians are always going to manage to sneak in at some point, but you can prevent it. For instance, if you are particularly interested in a news topic, Twitter allows you to make lists, you could put people who are talking about this topic in a list to follow what they have to say, giving you a diluted and in-depth view.
  2. Look at the source of the article, if it’s a website with lots of numbers or random letters in the URL, it’s probably not the most trusted of sources. And we all know artificial sugars aren’t good for you.
  3. If you are in a rush but still want to consume your daily dose of news, a good place to look at is MSN news. They filter through all the junk, and give you the top stories from global news sites, meaning that you still get different sources (a variety of fruit and veg is necessary) but they’re trusted, whilst still showing different angles on stories and keeping you up to date. It does the hard stuff for you.

From now on I will try to apply these tactics to my everyday consumption of media, hopefully this will give me a more in-depth view on news stories, whilst still looking at different sources. Whilst occasionally, allowing myself to snoop on Cosmopolitan.

Leave a Reply

